The University of Magdeburg becomes a "European University"

EU grants European university network 14 million euros to build a joint campus

As a member of the EU GREEN university network, the University of Magdeburg will become a "European University" together with eight other universities, also including fellow EUniverCities members, the University of Parma. The European Union is funding the development of joint sustainable university structures and programmes that enable close cooperation in research, teaching and administration with more than 14 million euros.

Over the next four years, the University of Magdeburg will receive 2 million euros to establish transnational study programs and research projects as well as transparent, digital administrative processes. In this way, students, researchers and employees will be able to move between European institutions without hurdles in the future and jointly use the experience, strengths and potential of all as well as developing intercultural skills. The idea of sustainability in teaching and research is profile-defining for the university network EU GREEN.

"This great success of the university network holds enormous potential for the university, the city and the region", says the rector of Magdeburg University, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Strackeljan. "Our campus will change because the European idea will be much more present." The task is also a major challenge, he said. True, at first glance it would only be a matter of designing common infrastructures, synchronizing university procedures and academic processes. "But, if we also succeed in actively using these new structures, then a great development potential will open up for Magdeburg University and incredible opportunities for our university members. A European campus will be created and students of Magdeburg University will then become students of a 'European University'."

Photo © Jana Dünnhaupt/OVGU 


The "European Universities" initiative is an EU initiative to build a European Education Area. By 2024, about twenty "European Universities" are to be created, consisting of university networks that enable students to obtain a degree by combining study opportunities in several EU countries, thus contributing to the international competitiveness of European universities.

The EU GREEN higher education alliance consists of nine universities from Spain, Italy, France, Portugal, Sweden, Poland, Ireland, Romania and Germany. The partner universities commit to common European values and goals for sustainable development, promote measures to combat climate change, and aim to develop a high-performance digital education system through the European Campus.

More information:


Secretariat EUniverCities
University of Exeter - - To keep in touch with us, please subscribe to our Newsletter

This website uses cookies
We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services.
Allow all Allow Selection Deny
Cookie Settings
Necessary cookies help make a website usable by enabling basic functions like page navigation and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.
Statistic cookies help website owners to understand how visitors interact with websites by collecting and reporting information anonymously.